AirScout - Airplane scatter prediction software

General Aircraft Enhancement Discussion
DL2ALF
Forum Novice
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 9:33 pm

Re: AirScout - Airplane scatter prediction software

Post by DL2ALF » Mon Apr 07, 2014 10:48 pm

VK3XL wrote:Well I have been using Airscout on my desktop computer in the shack for some time now, but now I want to use it on a netbook and I am having some issues. It seems that the graphic for the program is too large (vertically) for the netbook display and I cannot find any way to scroll down the screen to get to the options button so I can set it up with the various options I need to set. Has anyone else had this problem and found a cure?
I have tried setting the display size to different sizes but to no avail I still cannot get to the options button.
Hi Mike,

AirScout is designed to work at 1024*768 minimum screen resolution. As many netbooks are working on 1024*600 the lower part of the main window including the "Settings" button is not shown. It's debatable whether such a low screen resolution is suitable for the amount information.
BUT: I was beeing asked for accessibility improvements several times (e.g. larger font size for visually handicapped OM's). Right now I am working on a more flexible window layout which allows you to collapse/expand the status boxes at the very right side of the main window. This will ensure that the absolute minum of information is always shown on the screen and will solve your problem as well. Stay tuned for updates on http://www.airscout.eu.

73 de Frank, DL2ALF

VK3XL
Frequent Poster
Posts: 157
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 11:37 pm
Location: Narre Warren South QF21PW

Re: AirScout - Airplane scatter prediction software

Post by VK3XL » Mon Apr 07, 2014 10:52 pm

Thanks Frank for your efforts on this. I usually use this software at home but want to run it on my netbook for portable operation. The mods you suggest will certainly help in this regard

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
73 Mike

User avatar
VK2XV
Frequent Poster
Posts: 175
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 11:50 am

Re: AirScout - Airplane scatter prediction software

Post by VK2XV » Mon Oct 06, 2014 10:11 am

Hi,

I have installed Airscout and have the Globe and SRTM3 files downloaded and working.

But I don't see any planes :cry:

I notice the 'Planes Position Range' values don't seem to be correct.

I can set the area covered in "General", but in the "Planes" tab the 'Planes Position Range' is still set to the Europe default. The Lat/Lon text boxes are read-only - selecting and typing in values for Oz is not possible.

How do I change the Lat/Lon for 'Planes Position Range' when the textboxes are read-only ?

Note: 'Planes Altitude' I can change.

Cheers

Steve VK2XV/VK2ZTO
Steve VK2XV/VK2ZTO
North Richmond, NSW QF56ik
http://www.joataman.net
You are truly knowledgeable when you know what you don't know...

User avatar
VK5PJ
Forum Diehard
Posts: 762
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 7:38 pm
Location: Barossa Valley S.A
Contact:

Re: AirScout - Airplane scatter prediction software

Post by VK5PJ » Mon Oct 06, 2014 12:25 pm

Steve,
I think its read only if you have airscout in play mode (live) you have to click the PAUSE button before you can change any settings. The settings you mention have to be correct to be able to see any planes in your area. I can post a screen shot of my settings if you would like or they are in an earlier post in this thread.

It is a marvellous bit of software and has many plotting functions in there for looking at paths and the outlook of other stations (provided you know their accurate location)

Regards,
Peter Sumner, vk5pj
You have enemies? Good. That means you've stood up for something, sometime in your life.
- Winston Churchill

User avatar
VK2XV
Frequent Poster
Posts: 175
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 11:50 am

Re: AirScout - Airplane scatter prediction software

Post by VK2XV » Mon Oct 06, 2014 12:43 pm

VK5PJ wrote:Steve,
I think its read only if you have airscout in play mode (live) you have to click the PAUSE button before you can change any settings.,
Actually - on my version it has to be paused to even see the 'Options'. If it is in play the 'Options' button is grayed out.

So I have to be in 'Pause' to even ask the question - which I am.

All appears to be fine except the 'Planes Position Range' Lat/Lon text boxes are grayed out (read-only). If they weren't I could edit them for here (not for Europe).

I can't find any tick-box that might enable these particular text-boxes.

Cheers

Steve
Steve VK2XV/VK2ZTO
North Richmond, NSW QF56ik
http://www.joataman.net
You are truly knowledgeable when you know what you don't know...

User avatar
VK5PJ
Forum Diehard
Posts: 762
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 7:38 pm
Location: Barossa Valley S.A
Contact:

Re: AirScout - Airplane scatter prediction software

Post by VK5PJ » Mon Oct 06, 2014 5:34 pm

Hello Steve,
how odd, I can not find a combination that forces them to be greyed out. The file that this is all being read / saved to is located in the user profile of the current logged in user, in my case its here:

C:\Users\vk5pj\AppData\Local\DL2ALF\AirScout.exe_Url_npesloepepwgp1i33ij40dntkzv44khp\0.9.9.4

Its called user.config and it is in an XML format, you could try editing this file, here is a sample of the section you need to alter.

Code: Select all

           <setting name="Planes_MinLon" serializeAs="String">
                <value>112</value>
            </setting>
            <setting name="Planes_MaxLon" serializeAs="String">
                <value>180</value>
            </setting>
            <setting name="Planes_MinLat" serializeAs="String">
                <value>-44</value>
            </setting>
            <setting name="Planes_MaxLat" serializeAs="String">
                <value>-11</value>
            </setting>
It almost sounds like you do not have permission to update this file, is this a Windows 7 or Windows 8 PC? Will be interested if you can edit and save it. Of course it is advisable to make a backup of it first though ( I copied mine to be user.config.orig )

Regards,
Peter

User avatar
VK2XV
Frequent Poster
Posts: 175
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 11:50 am

Re: AirScout - Airplane scatter prediction software

Post by VK2XV » Mon Oct 06, 2014 7:27 pm

Hi Peter,

I notice from the config that you don't have the latest version (I have 1.0.0.0).

In my user.config file there is no entry for "Planes_MinLon" etc. When I edit the file to add them, the values are ignored.

I might see if I can find the previous version and see if this occurs there as well.

Cheers

Steve
Steve VK2XV/VK2ZTO
North Richmond, NSW QF56ik
http://www.joataman.net
You are truly knowledgeable when you know what you don't know...

User avatar
VK2XV
Frequent Poster
Posts: 175
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 11:50 am

Re: AirScout - Airplane scatter prediction software

Post by VK2XV » Mon Oct 06, 2014 8:58 pm

In 0.9.9.5 some of the Option tabs are missing, e.g. General... so back to v1.0.0.0.

I moved the AirScout 1.0.0.0 folder into Program Files(x86) and tagged the .exe to run in XP compat mode and now I am seeing planes. Interestingly the 'Planes Position Range' is still wrong....???? (and cannot be edited)... :?

W7 Pro ?

Cheers

Steve
Steve VK2XV/VK2ZTO
North Richmond, NSW QF56ik
http://www.joataman.net
You are truly knowledgeable when you know what you don't know...

User avatar
VK2XV
Frequent Poster
Posts: 175
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 11:50 am

Re: AirScout - Airplane scatter prediction software

Post by VK2XV » Tue Oct 07, 2014 9:25 am

I have been informed by the developer there is a bug wrt to the planes position range in v1.0.0.0.

Fixed in the next release.

Cheers

Steve VK2XV/VK2ZTO
Steve VK2XV/VK2ZTO
North Richmond, NSW QF56ik
http://www.joataman.net
You are truly knowledgeable when you know what you don't know...

User avatar
VK5PJ
Forum Diehard
Posts: 762
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 7:38 pm
Location: Barossa Valley S.A
Contact:

Re: AirScout - Airplane scatter prediction software

Post by VK5PJ » Tue Oct 07, 2014 10:42 am

Hi Steve,
I did not know thee was a version 1.0 of airscout so I am behind the times, glad you received the bug info, then we can all lookout for and avoid that one until there is a fix :D

Peter.

User avatar
VK3DXE
Forum Diehard
Posts: 584
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 9:35 pm

Re: AirScout - Airplane scatter prediction software

Post by VK3DXE » Tue Oct 07, 2014 12:59 pm

While we're at it, has anybody else had problems with it reporting your home QTH's altitude as 0m ASL?
Alan VK3DXE
QF21nv

VK1JA
Forum Diehard
Posts: 349
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 9:50 pm

Re: AirScout - Airplane scatter prediction software

Post by VK1JA » Sun Nov 09, 2014 10:42 am

In lieu of the bug in version 1.0.0 being fixed, does anyone have the install package of the previous version (0.9..v ?) they could pass on?

User avatar
VK3ZAZ
Forum Diehard
Posts: 799
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 1:46 pm
Location: Hamilton Victoria Australia

Re: AirScout - Airplane scatter prediction software

Post by VK3ZAZ » Sun Nov 09, 2014 1:27 pm

Tracking planes will get a lot more useable when everyone starts squawking ADSB in JAN 2017 until then many flights are simply not on that radar page. fwiw.
I bet you get enhanced paths on planes that are invisible like military flights govt vip and heads of state et al. I see contrails over here all the time and the planes are simply not on any pages Flight Radr24, Flight aware etc.

https://flightaware.com/live/

Flightaware is a superior tracking tool because you can see actual altitude traces and speeds
But it often relies on estimated when it cant see the transponder returns.
Tread your own path :om:

VK3KGR
Forum Novice
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 8:02 pm

Re: AirScout - Airplane scatter prediction software

Post by VK3KGR » Fri Jan 23, 2015 5:08 pm

I contacted Frank about the lack of planes on the screen the last few days.

He has posted this message on his web site. http://www.airscout.eu/


Update 2015-01-22:

Plane feeds discontinued. Working on a software update.
Stay tuned for news on this website!

73 de Frank, DL2ALF

DL2ALF
Forum Novice
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 9:33 pm

Re: AirScout - Airplane scatter prediction software

Post by DL2ALF » Mon Jan 26, 2015 9:38 pm

Hi guys,

if someone wants to join the testing community: please download the latest BETA version of AirScout by following this hidden link: http://www.airscout.eu/downloads/AirScout_V1_0_9_9.zip.
The new package is using an alternative plane feed. There is only few experience about the plane coverage, especially overseas.
As this BETA is quickly released some unexpected errors may occur.
Your feedback is highly appreciated.

73 de Frank, DL2ALF

User avatar
VK5PJ
Forum Diehard
Posts: 762
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 7:38 pm
Location: Barossa Valley S.A
Contact:

Re: AirScout - Airplane scatter prediction software

Post by VK5PJ » Tue Jan 27, 2015 5:33 pm

Hi Frank,
could you advise which plane feed you want us to test? The "WEBFeed" on http://www.planefinder.net does not show me any planes, the second option of "Generic" Random plane feeds gives me a screen full of them (when zoomed in) but only in a small cluster around the VK3 call area when I zoom out, many of these seem to be duplicates.

Min Long 112
Max Long 155
Min Lat -12
Max Lat -45

Regards,
Attachments
vk5pj-cap.JPG
air scout beta
Peter Sumner, vk5pj
You have enemies? Good. That means you've stood up for something, sometime in your life.
- Winston Churchill

DL2ALF
Forum Novice
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 9:33 pm

Re: AirScout - Airplane scatter prediction software

Post by DL2ALF » Tue Jan 27, 2015 5:51 pm

Hi Peter,

Random feed generates fake planes for testing purposes only, don't care about them.
Please swap MinLat and MaxLat to fulfill MaxLat > MinLat (including sign, not absolute value). You should see planes from the web feed then.

Regards,

Frank, DL2ALF

User avatar
VK5PJ
Forum Diehard
Posts: 762
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 7:38 pm
Location: Barossa Valley S.A
Contact:

Re: AirScout - Airplane scatter prediction software

Post by VK5PJ » Tue Jan 27, 2015 7:08 pm

Hi Frank,
well that worked well, have what appears to be a fully functional AirScout running here with your Beta code.
vk5pj-cap-2.JPG
airscout Beta with planes being displayed
Regards
Peter Sumner, vk5pj
You have enemies? Good. That means you've stood up for something, sometime in your life.
- Winston Churchill

User avatar
VK4EA
Forum Diehard
Posts: 306
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 10:28 pm
Location: Northgate

Re: AirScout - Airplane scatter prediction software

Post by VK4EA » Tue Jan 27, 2015 9:45 pm

Got mine working as well, after I figured out the plane updates wheren't working as the web site has banned my IP ........... Hotspotted off the phone and I have planes moving around. Don't suppose anybody knows how to get my IP back into the good books?

Sent from my SM-T805 using Tapatalk
Cheers,
Peter
VK4EA

VK3KGR
Forum Novice
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 8:02 pm

Re: AirScout - Airplane scatter prediction software

Post by VK3KGR » Tue Jan 27, 2015 10:58 pm

Also got 1.0.9.9 working. Thanks for the prompt fix.

Regards Geoff VK4KJJ

Post Reply